It’s been told that a friend, a guy, prefers to have a westerner as girlfriend than a Chinese girlfriend because from experience he found Chinese girls more troublesome. 

The other day, another friend, a ‘girl’, commented on this when talking to me. She said she doesn’t think Chinese girls are troublesome. Well, she’s a Chinese, I’m a Chinese as well. It’s not fair to comment on this and besides, it’s someone’s personal preference. What does it have to do with me or her anyways? 

Fine. 

Then she went on saying, ‘oh well, that makes sense. Western girls usually look prettier and have better/curvasive body figure. Of course, he’d find them more attractive.’ 

OMG! After a short pause, I replied, ‘well, it’s apple in the beholder’s eyes. And, when you love that person, you find him/her pretty; but when love is gone, you don’t find him/her pretty anymore.’ But what I really wanna say was, ‘why would you think your friend would be so superficial to think so?’ 

I wonder if appearance and body figure are the determinants in her choosing a boyfriend. It’s not like choosing the most favorite movie star or what, we’re talking about love! 

If someone devaluates me because of my look or body figure, oh, so what? Who cares? 

The most important thing is: “Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart." (1 Sam 16:7) And I know I’m God’s beloved child.