A few months ago, a young boy’s mom told me that they’re very likely to leave HK after this semester. About a month ago, one of my students’ mom told me that they’re going back to US for good and will probably stop their lessons (it’s two little girls) from May. 

Honestly, when I heard that they’re leaving HK for good, especially the two little girls, the first thing that came up to my mind, apart from that I’ll miss them – they’re really adorable, was really a very earthly matter: money. It’s not like a severe blow to my income but it does affect a bit. But almost simultaneously I knew that I need not worry as God will provide just as He has always been providing all that I need. 

Then about a week after I knew that the two little girls are leaving, a friend called me one night and asked if I can go teach his two kids. This friend is actually a colleague back from Ed Dept and I haven’t met him for a couple years already. Maybe even longer than that…I really don’t remember. I was reluctant to go to his place at first as he lives pretty far away from where I live. I live in NT East; he lives in NT West. It’s really the two ends of NT. Then he said he’d call a taxi for me, door to door, so that I don’t have to worry about transportation, and he’ll pay for my transportation time as well, which means I only have to teach them for about 1.5 hour but he’ll pay me for 3 hours. Of course, it’s a very good deal. I did ask him if he really wanna pay that much to hire me instead of sending his kids to some studio nearby but his place is really too remote and it works best for him to have me going to his place. Money just isn’t a problem to him but everything else is. So, I agreed to teach his two kids and today is my second visit their. Very lovely kids – a boy and a girl – I love teaching them. 

And this is not the end of the story. Some time ago, a friend told me that the professional society she’s in is going to hire a part-time secretary and kinda asked me if I’d be interested. I said yes, as long as it doesn’t involve literally working in an office. Last week, when she was attending the executive committee meeting of this society, she called me and asked me again if I’m really interested in taking the job. Well, she asked me coz we’ve known each other for years and she knows that my wallet is kinda dry at the moment. She told me the tentative terms and it’s really attractive. Then an interview was arranged and I got the job yesterday – contract signed… if everything goes fine, I may at least do it for a couple years or even more. 

Now let’s do the math: -two sisters leaving for good for sure +two new jobs = earning even more 

“So Abraham called that place The LORD Will Provide (Hebrew: Adonai-Jireh). And to this day it is said, “On the mountain of the LORD it will be provided." Genesis 22:14

God provides. Not only that, He provides more than we ask.

“[He] is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think…" Ephesians 3:20