So I’ve started teaching the two kids of my friend who lives in the very west of NT…

Every Wednesday, I take this taxi from my place to his place (on his expense – he pays the taxi driver a monthly fee to have this driver drives him to work almost everyday and me on every Wednesday). The taxi ride takes about 30 minutes or so and it’s never boring on the ride. The taxi driver is a pretty funny guy and extremely talkative. On the first ride, I’ve got to know how my friend goes to work, and how much he’s got paid from my friend, and how my friend’s wife goes to work, and how my friend’s kids go to school. Yes, I got to know all these from a taxi driver. On the second week, I learned how this taxi driver got to know his very first girl friend in his life and how they broke up because of family pressure, and how he married his wife, and how many kids he’s got, and what his son’s occupation is, and how he run into his first love again on the street… It’s never quiet in the taxi and it’s never boring. 

The two kids are actually very cute and sweet. The girl is about 6 years old and the boy is about 9. My friend wasn’t sure if the girl would like to learn playing the piano (but he was pretty sure his son wouldn’t like to do that) but it turned out both of them quite like playing the piano. The simplest example is that they’d fight for playing the piano. And even the 9-year-old boy likes playing it. They like playing the keyboard even though the “songs" I’m teaching are just like do-re-mi, mi-re-do, do-re-mi-re-do… Well, they’re the beginners and those “songs" are quite boring to my ears. Anyway, the piano lesson that was supposed to be for the younger sister only, now becomes a lesson for both. 

After spending 30 minutes or so on teaching piano, then it’s time to help the boy on his English. We’ve only got about an hour’s time as i have to rush back to the studio. The boy is actually quite smart but he’s really weak at spelling. The main problem is that he’s never learned any phonics and he can’t relate the spelling with the pronunciation of the words. Another problem is… well… all those who studied in Hong Kong local schools should know that the pronunciation we get to hear in the classroom just isn’t always correct. So… it makes it even harder to learn how to spell. The only thing one can do is just stuff it into one’s head even when it doesn’t make any sense. I hope I can help him to enjoy learning how to spell and thus have more fun in learning the language, especially in writing. And it seems the little girl also wanted to learn some English in her brother’s lesson. Two days ago, I saw this small book, an assigned reader from the kindergarten, and the little girl said she didn’t wanna read it. I asked her why and her brother immediately replied, “she doesn’t like English. She has no idea what the book’s talking about!" But when I read through the book (very slowly), the girl was eager to follow and read. She even insisted on reading aloud the front cover, the index page, the notice stuck on the back…=_=! Crazy little girl.

And this crazy little girl insisted that her name is Jellyfish. When she writes her name, English or Chinese, she writes her name (as printed on her id documents) and “Jellyfish" as if it’s part of her name. She told me seriously that it’s her favorite “animal" and it IS her name. And she holds in her hands a small jellyfish plush toy bought from Ocean Park all the time during the lesson. She’d kiss it suddenly during the lesson (then put the jelly fish onto my face…yikes!). Crazy little girl.

But they’re cute and sweet. The boy is now studying in a Catholic school but he said he’s never heard any Bible story in religion lessons. I hope I may read them some Bible stories later and sow the seed in their hearts. I’m not sure if I am the person who bring them to Christ but I know I’d regret if I’d never brought them closer to God when such possibility is lying right in front of me. For things as small as the angel jellyfish are God’s creation out of love. 

