[UPDATE: NOT on LION either. https://joannalaforet.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/etax_lion/]

I wrote last year that we can use e-tax on Mac with Firefox 2. Just an update: NOT ANYMORE IF you’re using  SNOW LEOPARD!

Right, you heard me… NOT ON SNOW LEOPARD.

I got to say that I haven’t tried it for a couple months (who’d keep trying out e-tax everyday?). Anyway, I tried to access e-tax after getting an email from IRD and I’d already installed Snow Leopard already but still kept my Firefox 2. So I accessed it with Firefox 2 but it either failed to open the login page or it crashed as I clicked the login button.

I called IRD and this lady gave me the following advice:

It’s better to use hardcopy.

Got it! I’m switching to hardcopy. All you need to do is to write a letter stating clearly your identity card number and request for cancellation of e-tax account plus switching to hardcopy from now on. The letter should be sent to…

Inland Revenue Tower

5 Gloucester Road, Waichai

Hong Kong

Attn.: Taxation Officer

Everyone who’s using Mac and has no access to PC… switch to hardcopy. I know it’s not environmental friendly but… face the reality: our freaking stupid government is doing nothing to protect the environment. Donald thought he is promoting energy saving bulb but in the end of the day, all our government thinks of or cares about is making money… no matter how.